Accessibility Navigation:

Monologue by Patti Hall

Hall, Patti
Philbeck, Amanda
Date of Interview: 
Relationships with people and places; Stories and storytellers; Childhood adventures
Patti Hall talks about her aunt's relation to the Wright brothers and about growing up in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
Charlotte Narrative and Conversation Collection
Collection Description: 
Amanda Philbeck interviews Charlotteans to collect stories for a class project at UNC Charlotte.
PH: This is, uh, Patti Hall. Um, I'm going to tell you a story about my, uh, Aunt Bess. This lady was, um, Christian scientist, ah, very religious. Never saw a doctor her whole life. And, uh, she grew up in Ohio, um, around, uh, Defiance County. And she can remember, um, going to the Wright Brothers' bicycle shop, they were cousins in Dayton, and watching them and their customers. And she can remember the hoopla, um, about their airplane, and their, their flight in, ah, North Carolina and how the family celebrated and some parts of the family thought they were crazy and, um, didn't agree with what they were doing and the other parts thought it was wonderful and, and how the family fights came about over the crazy cousins that tried to fly. Uh, she lived to a ripe old age of 99, having never seen a doctor before in her life. She, um, past away quietly in the morning. And that morning, um, she past away, I can remember this like it was yesterday. She passed away at seven fifty-seven and at seven fifty-eight it starts snowing in, uh, Fort Lauderdale. That's the first time, um, I had ever seen snow in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. So, um, I truly believe that she's an angel and, um, my guardian angel. And she was an awful special lady. Growing up in Fort Lauderdale, Florida was, um, fun at that time. It was still quite small. We lived a half mile from the beach and, um, we could walk wherever we wanted to go. We used to even take a bus to Miami, just kids, um, back in the old days when it was safe and nobody really bothered you. But, uh, I lived on the, at the beach. Um, about schools [pause] we'd skip school most of the time and ended up at the beach. So I had a pretty normal childhood. My mom and dad were middle class. My dad was a mailman. My mom stayed home, raised my sister and I. Uh, we were swimmers so my whole family was involved with, um, a swim program down there and we had daily practices two times a day, even during school. So my mom stayed pretty busy carting us back and forth to the pool. Weekends we were involved traveling all over the state of Florida for swim meets and we had a pretty good time. We didn't have a whole lot of money, um, and we packed lunches and stuff to take with us for traveling. But, ah, then there once a summer we drive back to Ohio. It used to take us, uh, two days. We used to drive 441 through the Smokey Mountain National Park, the only way we could get there. And, um, that was fun, going back to my hometown in Defiance. That's where I was born, but I moved to Florida when I was five. My mom had arthritis, so.