Accessibility Navigation:

Monologue by Daryl E. Stilwell

Stilwell, Daryl E.
Stilwell, Carla
Date of Interview: 
Relationships with people and places; Then and now; Cultural identification
Daryl Stilwell talks about his job, his family, his hobbies, and where he'd like to travel.
Charlotte Narrative and Conversation Collection
Collection Description: 
Carla Stilwell interviews Charlotteans to collect stories for a class project at UNC Charlotte.
Interview Audio: 
DS (Daryl Stilwell): My name is Daryl Stilwell. Uh, I live in Mint Hill. Uh, I was born and, and raised in this area, I've lived in this area all my life. Um, I've been married for 28 years. I have, uh, three children. Uh, I own a small masonry company, uh, that does residential new home construction. Uh, I'm a third generation, uh, in the brick mason trade. Uh, my interests are, I like to play golf uh, a lot, um, all sports. I love spending time with my family, uh, and doing things with them. Um, a lot of church activities, uh, involvement with friends and organizations. And, uh, uh I lead a men's group, a small men's group at church that I've done for the last seven or eight years, which I have a lot of interest in that. Um, going to, uh, football games and, and hockey games, I'm a big hockey fan. I like to, uh, keep up with the Hurricanes and the, uh, the Checkers. Um, I used to have season tickets to the Checkers games and, uh, that was something that my, my daughter and I had a lot of interest in. Uh, had quite a good many friends that was on the team and we did a lot of traveling to, to the away games, and, of course, catching all the home games. Uh. [Pause] [Break in recording] My wife and I have raised, uh, three children. Uh, the youngest one, which is in high school now, one son who is married, and the other daughter in college and, uh, we feel very fortunate that we've had three wonderful children to raise, um [pause]. So probably one of the most, uh, enjoyable vacations that, that I've ever had was, uh, on a cruise that we, uh, were able to take and the children were able to go, that was a, that was a great vacation together, uh-. Some of the things that I'd like to do in the future, uh, that Brenda and I could maybe do together, uh, as the children are leaving and setting up a life on their own with their families, uh, I would love to go to Scotland someday. That's where my wife's ancestors are from. Uh, a lot of history there we'd like to see and I would love to go play the old course, uh, and several of the other courses, golf courses there in Scotland. That would definitely be a, a dream vacation that I hope to someday I'll be able to do. [Break in recording] Uh, would really like to do some traveling, uh, that type thing. Also, uh, uh, when I was younger, my teenage years, did a lot of working on older cars that type thing and hopefully someday I'd like to get back into that to maybe restore some older cars, uh, have that as a hobby, uh, to work on those and, uh, maybe build a garage here where I could, uh, fix up some older cars, uh, just for, just for pleasure. [Break in recording] Another thing I'd like to be able to do is, uh, uh, in retirement years, possibly, is be able to do, uh, some mission work, some mission trips. Uh, there's been a need in the several years past of, of masons being able to go overseas and, uh, to help, uh, different families and that type thing with building homes as a mission project, uh, that I've not been able to do because of work scheduling and running a company here. But, uh, hopefully in my, my retirement years I'd be able to go over and contribute to some of that, uh, and be able to use my trade to help some other people.